
Cable Franchise Authority Certificate fee 
in S.C. and other Southeastern states 

Included in the Secretary of State’s (SoS) January 17, 2020 letter to the House Legislative Oversight 
Committee (LOC).  This information was provided in response to the following question in LOC’s 
December 12, 2019, letter to the SoS: “49.  Please provide a table listing the fee for application for a 
certificate of cable franchise authority in South Carolina and comparable fees in other Southeastern 
states.9” 

In addition to providing the information in this document, SoS provided the following response: 
• Please see the table of the fees for cable franchise filings in the Southeastern states, including South

Carolina, that is provided in Attachment M.
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State Cable Franchise Fees by State 

State Fees Statutes & Office 
Alabama Cable franchises appear to be granted by localities; no statewide authority or 

fee seen. 
 

Arkansas Application to Register as a Video Service Provider: $1,500  
Modification of Boundaries of Video Service Provider: $100 
Termination of Certificate of Franchise Authority for Video Service Provider: 
$100 
Application to Transfer Certificate of Franchise Authority for Video Service 
Provider: $100 

Title 23, Chapter 19 
Secretary of State 

Florida Application for a State-Issued Certificate of Franchise Authority to Provide 
Cable and/or Video Service: $10,035.00* 
Application to Amend a State-Issued Certificate of Franchise Authority for 
Cable and/or Video Service: $35.00 
Renewal of an Existing State-Issued Certificate of Franchise Authority to 
Provide Cable and/or Video Service: $1,035.00 

Title XXXVI, Chapter 610 
Department of State, Division of Corporations 

Georgia Application for State Franchise to Provide Cable and/or Video Service: 
$500.00 
Application to Amend a State Franchise: $250.00 
Notice of Transfer of a State Franchise: $250.00 
Notice of Termination of a State Franchise: No fee 
Application for Renewal of a State Franchise: $50.00 

Title 36, Chapter 76 
Secretary of State  

Kentucky Cable franchises appear to be granted by localities; no statewide authority or 
fee seen. 

 

Louisiana Application for a State Cable and Video Franchise: $60.00 
Renewals and Amendments: $60.00 
Additional Certified Copies: $15.00 
Additional Certificates: $20.00 

Chapter 10A, RS 45:1361-1378 
Secretary of State 

Mississippi Cable franchises appear to be granted by localities; no statewide authority or 
fee seen. 

 

North Carolina Notice of Franchise: $125.00 
Notice of Commencement of Service: $0.00 

Chapter 66, Article 42 
Secretary of State 
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https://advance.lexis.com/container/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=d377dc4b-3e57-4021-96c9-d0e788b43450&func=LN.Advance.ContentView.getFullToc&nodeid=AAXAABAAQ&typeofentry=Breadcrumb&config=00JAA3ZTU0NTIzYy0zZDEyLTRhYmQtYmRmMS1iMWIxNDgxYWMxZTQKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cubRW4ifTiwi5vLw6cI1uX&action=publictoc&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5915-H8K0-R03K-03RH-00008-00&pdtocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Ftableofcontents%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A50XD-80G1-DY3X-63F1-00008-00&ecomp=9s-fkkk&prid=ab8f6986-3089-4750-9cbe-c42ca516bdba
https://www.sos.arkansas.gov/business-commercial-services-bcs/forms-fees/miscellaneous-forms
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0600-0699/0610/0610ContentsIndex.html&StatuteYear=2019&Title=%2D%3E2019%2D%3EChapter%20610
https://dos.myflorida.com/sunbiz/forms/cable-franchise/
https://advance.lexis.com/container?config=00JAAzZDgzNzU2ZC05MDA0LTRmMDItYjkzMS0xOGY3MjE3OWNlODIKAFBvZENhdGFsb2fcIFfJnJ2IC8XZi1AYM4Ne&crid=b884cf63-060d-4836-995e-e47032afbe35
https://sos.ga.gov/index.php/Corporations/state_video_franchise_authority
http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/Law.aspx?d=631366
https://www.sos.la.gov/BusinessServices/FileBusinessDocuments/GetFormsAndFeeSchedule/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/statutes/HTML/ByArticle/Chapter_66/Article_42.html
https://www.sosnc.gov/divisions/cable_television_for_franchises


Notice of Withdrawal: $0.00  
Notice of Change in Ownership: $0.00 
Articles of Correction: $10.00 

South Carolina Application for a State-Issued Certificate: $110.00 
Application to Amend a State-Issued Certificate: $110.00 
Notice of Change of Franchise Fee Rate: $0.00 
Notice of Change of PEG Access Channels: $0.00 
Notice of Termination: $0.00 
Notice of Transfer: $0.00 
Statement of Termination of Existing Franchise: $0.00 

Title 58, Chapter 12, Article 3 
Secretary of State 

Tennessee Certificate of Franchise Authority (by population)**: 
(A)  Up to and including 50,000 $500; 
(B)  Over 50,000, up to and including 100,000 $1,000; 
(C)  Over 100,000, up to and including 500,000 $2,000; 
(D)  Over 500,000, up to and including 1,000,000 $5,000; 
(E)  Over 1,000,000, up to and including 2,000,000 $10,000; 
(F)  Over 2,000,000 $15,000. 
Amendment (by population): 
(A)  Up to and including 50,000 $250; 
(B)  Over 50,000, up to and including 1,000,000 $500; 
(C)  Over 1,000,000 $1,000. 

Title 7, Chapter 59 
Regulatory Authority (N/K/A Public Utility 
Commission) 

Virginia Cable franchises appear to be granted by localities; no statewide authority or 
fee seen. 

 

West Virginia Application for Certificate of Franchise Authority: $250.00 
Renewals: $250.00° 
Annual fee to commission: $0.12 per subscriber 
Initial, renewal, or transfer documents filed with commission and franchise 
authority: $50.00 per franchise, $25.00 in years when filing of documents not 
required. 

Chapter 24D 
Franchise authority can be a municipality, 
county, or Public Service Commission. 

 
*Florida: filing is good for 5 years. 
**Tennessee: according to agency website, certificate has a 10 year term. 
°West Virginia: code indicates periods of renewal are not less than five nor more than twenty years each. 
 
National Conference of State Legislatures: Table of Statewide Video Franchising Statutes 
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https://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t58c012.php#58-12-300
https://sos.sc.gov/services-and-filings/cable-franchise
https://law.justia.com/codes/tennessee/2010/title-7/chapter-59/
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/publicutility/documents/utilitydivdocs/CableFranchiseSectionBySection.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/publicutility/documents/utilitydivdocs/CableFranchiseSectionBySection.pdf
http://code.wvlegislature.gov/24D-1/
http://www.psc.state.wv.us/cable/default.htm
http://www.ncsl.org/research/telecommunications-and-information-technology/statewide-video-franchising-statutes.aspx



